Stewardship of Life


Welcome to the journey!

Posted in It's Personal by Robert Blezard on January 1, 2010

It’s Personal!

What’s that supposed to mean?
And what’s it go to do with stewardship?
Everything!

Welcome to “It’s Personal!” This blog is one Christian’s attempts to explore the edges of personal responsibility when it comes to stewardship issues, both individually and globally.

When I think about it, I see stewardship in everything all around me.

First, individually:

As a man, God has given me some pretty amazing gifts, all of which I did not choose or deserve. We’ll start with faith that hungers for righteousness, and follow up with a healthy body, a reasonably intelligent mind, and, of course, my good looks and boyish charm.

The first thing, then, is for me to be a good steward of my personal health – to take my body, my mind, and my spirit. And of course, my good looks and boyish charm.

Next, God has placed me in an environment that gives me even more amazing gifts: I grew up in a stable, middle-class family in the world’s most powerful and richest nation. (Pretty good, eh?) Moreover, I have the privilege of a graduate school education and a calling to ordained ministry. Plus, of course, my good looks and boyish charm.

So God gives me these gifts. ”Great!” I say. “I’m thankful, Lord. Really, I am!” Then Jesus comes along and ruins the whole thing by saying, “To whom much is given much is expected.” I guess that means I have to turn off the TV and get off the couch, huh? So you see? It’s personal.

Next, globally:

It’s pretty easy — even for those of us who are clergy, lay ministers or conscientious disciples of Christ – to look at the problems of our community and our world, shrug our shoulders and ask, “So what? What’s that got to do with me? What can I do about it?”

Christian stewardship begins with the premise that all we have and all our planet’s abundance belongs to God, and that God provides enough for all. As God’s people, we are only caretakers and trustees of that abundance and the natural systems that sustain it. And let’s face facts, children: We aren’t doing such a hot job.

The promise of Christianity is that if we all lived as we should — that is, loving God with all of our essence and loving our neighbor as ourselves — then through us God ‘s grace and love would transform our world into a place of justice, peace and sustainability. But first, as a species, we have to turn off the TV and get off the couch.

The confluence of individual and global stewardship:

Hey, wait! The world isn’t something that I watch on CNN. The world doesn’t begin (or end) at my front steps, or at the steps of my church. I’m part of the world. It’s not me and the world; it’s me in the world. That means the stewardship of my own life is interconnected with the stewardship of the world.

So that means I not only have to turn off the TV and get off the couch; it means I have to leave the house as well. Yikes! It’s personal!

This blog is one Christian’s attempts to explore the edges of personal responsibility when it comes to stewardship issues, both individually and globally.

Won’t you join me? It would be so much more fun to take this amazing journey together!

-Rob Blezard

Leave a Reply

